So Long and Thanks for All the Clicks

I considered doing something cheesy and spoofing the Declaration of Independence here, then realized that if I had the creative energy to do that I wouldn’t be writing this in the first place. Go figure, yeah? Anyway, some of you might have noticed I haven’t contributed anything in a while, and, well… that’s how it’s going to be, sadly. I, Jeni “Science Whyzard” Hackett, must take my leave of the Red Shirt Crew.

This is due to a combination of reasons, chief among them being I’m entering my senior year of undergrad, which entails a full-time paid internship (at Colonial Williamsburg, hence why I wanted to spoof the Declaration of Independence – I’ve had it on the brain since the 4th, for probably obvious reasons), history honors thesis research, work on personal projects (this sounds impressive but really it’s code for “I committed to three different cosplays for Dragon*Con, may God have mercy on my soul and fingertips), and all the annoying minutiae that accompanies being a semi-real-person and taking care of oneself.
There are other reasons, more personal ones, that entail my own emotional state, my own development as a writer, and what I personally want to achieve with my writing. Most of you readers don’t know, but my ultimate career aspiration has nothing to do with video games, comics, or entertainment (in the pop culture sense); I want to be a science journalist or an in-house writer/editor for a (preferably science, but I’d take history) museum’s publications department. I’ll never stop loving the things the Red Shirt Crew discusses, ever, and I’ll still stray back to writing about them frequently, but they aren’t what I need to be focusing on right now. That sucks, but then again, I also really, truly love writing about the science and history stuff, so it balances out in the wash.
Now, if for some reason this really hits you hard, don’t worry! I’ll still be lurking in the depths of the internet – you’ve (presumably) read my tagline and know my social media usernames. If you want to find me, I’m easily found.

So this is me, saying goodbye. But, hey, the rest of the Red Shirt Crew can do it without me and are all fantastic writers and people, so I assure you, my presence will not be missed in the slightest. They got this.

Thanks to everyone who has read my work in my time here. I’ll see you ‘round the net.
Jeni Hackett, aka Science Whyzard, really, truly appreciates everyone who’s ever read any of her things, and will look back on her time at the Red Shirt Crew with fondness. Life getting in the way sucks, doesn’t it? Even though you’ll no longer find her here, you can still always find her on twitter under the name @allonsyjeni, email her at jeni.is.a.geek@gmail.com, or find her on tumblr at hellomynameisgeek

1 thought on “So Long and Thanks for All the Clicks

Leave a comment