Week Two: I’m Just Saying…

Sorry for the delay on this week’s “I’m just saying…” As I wrote in my podcast delay bulletin (and don’t worry, that’s on the way too) a massive research paper blocked my way. But I’m here to recap everything from our second week as a blog and respond. Hobey ho!

This week, I’m Just Saying…

…that I was more of a Charmander guy myself, but I can see why Jason likes Bulbasaur. If you have no idea to what I’m referring, you should probably check out our podcast: Red Shirt Podcast #2: I Like Bulbasaur!

…that I stand by what I said in my Ranking Movies article: Avatar was not a good movie, and neither was the Social Network. You know, when I listen really closely, I can almost hear the pitchforks and torches from those Academy Awards voters who almost made these two movies the best of their respective years.

…that Junior Varsity has convinced me to watch Alphas with him (Alphas to Omegas). For those of you who are worried that the shortened season means that the show is all but finished, keep this in mind: Battlestar Galactica, which also aired on Syfy, had only 13 episodes in its first season, then was given 3 more seasons and two full length movies. Alphas seems perfectly fine from where I’m standing.

Though his article reminded me: is there any show that was more disappointing in the last decade than Heroes? I mean, it’s one thing when a show crashes and burns; that happens in television all the time. But Heroes seemed to suffer a living death, never reaching its potential as a show by a long shot but still being just inventive enough to keep on living. It’s sad, really. Imagine Heroes if someone like the Syfy Channel owned it…

Wait, that would just be Alphas… PLEASE KEEP MAKING THIS SHOW! The quirky sci-fi nerds like me need it to work out.

…that I could not be happier to be Greg’s son (Titles Update). Since Jason’s my adopted brother, it’s inevitable that we become warring families at some point however. I guess it’s time to fight for Elena and Thomas’ affection, since they have to end up on separate sides. Remember, Elena, I did buy you pizza and wings yesterday :P.

…that my death in last week’s game of Nerf Wars (Nerf Wars Rundown: Episode 1, Necromancer) was entirely justified, but it led me to think: what other references should get one immediately shot in game? My immediate list includes saying you sparkle while playing vampire, making an obnoxiously awful pun, or promoting anything made by Michael Bay and being serious about it, but leave a comment if you have any other ideas.

…that the Inbetweeners is an incredibly hilarious show (From the Archives: The Inbetweeners Review) that you should totally go watch right now. Seriously, it’s 18 episodes in all three seasons combined. You have no excuse to check it out. Brits know comedy, and this is comedy done right.

…that we should all thank thekeynote for her wonderful October Playlist, though to be honest, mine looks a helluva lot different. I mean, her playlist is awesome, but I’m more of a Muse/Panic! at the Disco/Linkin Park/Senses Fail/Escape the Fate/Skillet/Bullet for My Valentine/Three Days Grace/Shinedown/30 Seconds to Mars/10 Years kind of guy, you know?

Yep, I’m that guy. Sorry in advance 😛

… that El Laberinto del Fauno is easily one of my favorite movies of all time. It is as of today the only movie that left me absolutely speechless for a solid twenty minutes after it was complete, which, if you know me or have listened to any of the podcasts, is quite an accomplishment. Could not recommend it more highly.

…that the Vortex line is incredibly scary when you’re cornered From the Armory: Nerf Vortex Line, but I think I’m going to hold off until the next round of Vortex come in. Besides, I have my Nerf Stampede (which I will post a picture of when it is complete) that can fire 120 rounds/minute. For now, I think I’m good with firepower :).

…that I’m convinced I have to go out and read All the King’s Men thanks to Sara’s (madame spiceosis) premiere article: Books and bookstores. And really, is there anything better than spending a couple hours in a book store just perusing the shelves to find that perfect masterpiece?

Oh yeah, there are comic book stores, where I can do the same thing AND usually get away with finishing a couple books without having to pay for them because they are a lot shorter. And free entertainment beats the inevitable $50 I’ll drop on my bookstore shopping spree. I’m just saying

Leave a comment